A Thousand Flappers and Hobbledehoys

not merely superfluous, but ridiculous

Archives: Regularity

When I started grad school, I saw it as an opportunity to wipe the undergrad slate clean, get rid of my old habits like procrastination and tardiness.  I had acquired a reputation in my undergrad classes as a student who was obviously smart, but who never put in enough work to really reach my full potential, and I figured that grad school was the time to finally put in that extra bit of effort- or at least get to class on time.

Within the first semester, everyone knew me as the student who was always late and two days behind the due dates, thanks to my tendency to start assignments 12 hours before they needed to be turned in.

A recent Daily Post prompt asked WordPress bloggers to state their goals, and while I did, in classic blogger tradition, state some preliminary goals on the first post I made, I figure my 25th post is as good a time as any to review how well I’ve been meeting them.  My goals tend to be the same in any creative endeavor- just produce something.  It doesn’t have to be good (that will come later), it doesn’t have to be popular (I can’t keep up with blogging trends, nor can I write 1000 words about something that doesn’t interest me), but it has to be regular.  I originally envisioned this page as one-update-a-day, as I’m guessing most people plan on when they start, but as usual I’ve regressed toward the mean.  Eventually I’m going to have to figure out why I can’t hold myself accountable for meeting even the most basic goals.

Oh, I had excuses- good ones!  That’s part of the problem in more ways than one.  For one thing, if the primary goal of this blog is to post regularly, no matter the content or popularity, then I need to be able to work it into a schedule no matter what the circumstances.  For another, the reason I had to take a two-week break from posting was a pair of final papers I had to turn in- after I had to ask for more time.  Clearly, my attempt to begin good habits was only exacerbating my existing bad ones.  I ended up taking an extra week off because I was so burned out by those last assignments.

I don’t have an easy solution for my problem, probably because one doesn’t exist.  I wrote a blog post yesterday, and I’m going to write another one today.  On Thursday I’m going to the Phoenix Comicon for the weekend, so I should have plenty of material for tomorrow through Sunday.  The only thing I can do is keep moving forward, 1000 words at a time.

One comment on “Archives: Regularity

  1. Pingback: Goals: Thanks Everyone! | Khana's Web

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 23 May 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , .
May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow me on Twitter

